Call Now (800) 836-2776

DUI in Los Angeles

If you face DUI charges in Los Angeles and need reliable, skilled representation, call Arro Law. Our attorneys understand that an arrest and charge for DUI is a traumatic and often frightening time in your life. Penalties for driving under the influence can include the loss of your driver’s license, job and cause your car insurance rates to increase.

Do not live with the fear of the unknown. Have your DUI questions answered by a strong defense team that is:

  • Credible;
  • Professional; and
  • Experienced.

Contact Arro Law and schedule a confidential consultation anytime, day or night. We will start fighting your DUI case right away.

Let Our DUI Defense Lawyers Help You

An experienced DUI defense lawyer does more than show up to court with you on appointed days. Your DUI defense lawyer from Arro Law works tirelessly to use their DUI case skills and experience to your advantage.

Your defense lawyer from Arro Law can do the following on your behalf, and more:

  • Request an administrative hearing regarding your driver’s license;
  • Find circumstances in your criminal case that could lessen your penalties or even negate the crime altogether;
  • Call witnesses to testify for you on your DUI charge;
  • Cross-examine any prosecution witnesses, including the police officer; and
  • Negotiate a plea-bargain; or
  • Take your case to trial, if appropriate.

Meet with a DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible as specific administrative and procedural deadlines apply to maintaining your California driver’s license throughout your DUI case.

Misdemeanor DUIs in California

In California, a defendant’s first DUI conviction is a misdemeanor.

The penalties for a first time DUI are as follows:

  • From $390 to $1,000 in fines plus penalty assessments;
  • Forty-eight hours to six months in jail or probation with no mandatory jail time;
  • License suspension of six months from the criminal court with a four-month suspension imposed by the Department of Motor Vehicles for a blood alcohol content of .08% or more. These may usually overlap. First offenders can apply for a restricted license to and from school, work, and necessary activities using an ignition interlock device. Those drivers without interlock devices in their cars for a restricted license generally must install one for up to six months after license reinstatement; and
  • Informal probation of up to five years, including a three-month DUI school and 30 hours of class time. For drivers with a blood alcohol content of .20% or more, a nine-month DUI school and 60 hours of class time.

A second DUI conviction in California is also a misdemeanor. Its penalties are as follows:

  • Fines of $390 to $1,000, plus penalty assessments;
  • Ninety-six hours to one year in jail. Possibly served on house arrest or jail-alternative programs;
  • License suspension of two years from the criminal court and a twelve-month administrative suspension for drivers with a blood alcohol content of .08% or more. They may usually overlap. The driver may apply for a restricted driver’s license but must have an ignition interlock device for at least twelve months either way; and
  • A three to five-year informal probation plus an eighteen to thirty-month DUI school.

A third California DUI may be a misdemeanor with the following penalties:

  • Fines of $390 to $1,000, plus penalty assessments;
  • A jail term of one hundred and twenty days to one year and a thirty-month DUI school. The judge may grant probation with the first thirty days served in jail;
  • A three-year license suspension from the criminal court and a twelve-month administrative suspension for a driver with a .08% and over. The two may overlap. The driver may apply for a restricted license but must have an ignition interlock device for at least two years; and
  • Three to five years of informal probation and the judge may order a thirty-month DUI school.

Felony DUIs in California

DUIs that cause injury to someone may be misdemeanors or felonies.

A felony DUI with injuries has the following penalties:

  1. Fines of $390 to $5,000, plus penalty assessments; and
  2. A prison sentence of sixteen months to four years.

A DUI with fatalities could result in anywhere from a year in jail and $1,000 in fines to fifteen years to life in state prison, depending on which of the following charges a defendant is convicted of:

  • Negligence vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated;
  • Gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated; or
  • Second-degree murder.

Besides injury or fatality DUIs, California may also charge a fourth or subsequent DUI within ten years as a felony offense.

A conviction for a fourth felony DUI carries the following:

  • Fines of $390 to $1,000, plus penalty assessments; and
  • Sixteen months to four years in prison.

Contact a DUI Defense Attorney in Los Angeles

Whether you are facing your first or a subsequent DUI, you deserve excellent representation by a top-tier Los Angeles law firm. You owe yourself a call to Arro Law. Our aggressive, knowledgeable DUI defense attorneys will strive to get you the very best result possible.

Learn more about your charges and potential case outcomes by calling Arro Law in Los Angeles today.