Child Abuse and Molestation Defense in Los Angeles
No crime draws more public attention and speculation than child abuse and molestation, and child abuse charges are challenging to defend in Los Angeles. There are punishments for both the individual who engages in the abuse and molestation of a child and any individual who allows the abuse.
The penalties and punishments for convictions of child abuse and molestation in California are some of the most severe in the state. Therefore, it is vital that you seek the representation of a child abuse and molestation defense attorney if you are facing child abuse charges in California.
At Arro Law, our child abuse and molestation defense attorneys are:
- Driven to succeed.
Time is of the essence. Call Arro Law today and retain the services of an experienced child abuse and molestation defense attorney who is ready to fight for your legal rights and freedom.
An Experienced Child Abuse and Molestation Defense Attorney Can Help
Your child abuse and molestation defense attorney from Arro Law will do the following, and more, on your behalf:
- Explain your charges in an understandable way;
- Advise you of your legal rights;
- Apply your charges to the facts of your case;
- Work with you to prepare a strategic defense;
- Gather relevant evidence;
- Interview any witnesses;
- Seek a dismissal of charges when available;
- Preserve your constitutional rights;
- Arrange an acceptable plea negotiation when prudent; and
- Move forward with a trial where appropriate.
Arro Law is a top-tier Los Angeles defense firm. We strive to provide you with superior legal representation and protect you from the prosecution’s tactics in your child abuse or molestation case. Contact us anytime to discuss our services and client commitment.
What Is Child Abuse?
In California, child abuse is the willful infliction of the following on a minor under eighteen:
- Any cruel or inhuman corporal (bodily) punishment; or
- An injury that results in a traumatic condition.
A traumatic condition is a wound or other bodily injury, whether minor or serious, caused by the direct application of physical force.
Child abuse includes but is not limited to the following:
- Shaking; and
Spanking is not child abuse when it is for disciplinary purposes and is not excessive under the circumstances.
Punishment for misdemeanor child abuse carries up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $6,000. Felony child abuse may result in up to six years in prison and a fine of $6,000. Felony probation is also a possibility.
There is a potential for increased sentencing when there is a prior conviction for child abuse.
What Is Child Molestation?
Child molestation is engaging in or attempting to engage in sexual acts with a person under eighteen years of age. Penalties can be either misdemeanor or felony charges depending upon the minor’s age and the nature of the sexual contact. An offender may also have to register as a sex offender.
Legal defenses to child molestation charges include:
- The alleged victim did not meet the age criteria for the crime;
- The contact was not sexual in nature; and
- The accusation was false.
There are several types of child molestation. To discuss the particulars of your child molestation charge or a sexual abuse charge, contact Arro Law in Los Angeles. Remember, you should never give a statement to law enforcement without seeking the advice of an experienced attorney like ours at Arro Law. Even a harmless statement can be used as evidence against you for a crime.
Contact a Child Abuse and Molestation Defense Lawyer in Los Angeles
Contact Arro Law anytime, day or night. We look forward to meeting you in a confidential case consultation at your earliest convenience.